Shelly Rodrigues, CAE

California Academy of Family Physicians
If you need to update your contact information, email Shannon Goecke at

Contact Details

California Academy of Family Physicians


Shelly Rodrigues, CAE, CHCP, FACEHP, CAFP Deputy Executive Vice President (DEVP), has more than 30 years’ experience in medical society management, the past 25 years with the California Academy of Family Physicians.

Shelly has a BS-Education and MS-Journalism from the University of Kansas, is a graduate of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement Breakthrough College on Collaboratives, Virtual Collaboratives, and Innovation College, and is a Certified Association Executive (CAE).  She earned the CHCP designation in 2008.  She is also a Fellow of the Alliance for Continued Education in the Health Professions.

Shelly has been the Academy’s DEVP for the past 25 years.  Her role includes oversight for education, communications, membership and technology.  She led the effort to secure ACCME accreditation for the California Academy of Family Physicians, and has achieved re-accreditation status four times, the two most recent six-year accreditations with commendation. She is a nationally recognized expert on continuing medical education and a frequent speaker on the subject.  She has served on the Commission on Continuing Professional Development of the American Academy of Family Physicians.  She is also the Executive Director of the CAFP Foundation.

Shelly is also a recognized leader in leadership development and co-founded with Ken Slaw, PhD, American Academy of Pediatrics, the American Association of Medical Society’s Leadership Academy.  She served as master faculty for the academy, and has worked on leadership development projects with the Alliance for CEHP, AAFP and other organizations.

Shelly was the 2000-01 President of her national professional association, the American Association of Medical Society Executives, is a master faculty member for its Leadership Academy and served as the first chair of the CME Council.  She served as the 2013 Chair of the ACEhp’s Annual Conference Committee and has served as faculty for ACEhp leadership sessions at the Conference.